Ruined by Reading

A Whole Bunch of Things

Posted in Feminism, July Book Blowout by M on July 14, 2008

Where has my favorite Pakistani blogger gone? This makes me all kinds of sad.

I have a feeling this whole 5 books read by the end of July thing isn’t going to happen. I’m finally getting into Eat, Pray, Love now. It’s a love hate relationship because I really don’t do the whole chick-lit thing, but it’s pretty interesting.

I have to ask though – does anyone know any good books on feminism? The tricky part is that it has to be my sort of feminism which is impossible to describe. I love these feminists, but I really don’t like most of these feminists. So…Islamic feminism? Moderate feminism? I love Islamic feminism but I’d like to read more on the non-hypocritical extreme Western feminism.

While I’m here, can I talk about how much this pisses me off? I do not necessarily agree with the way this woman appears to be living her life, but if it makes her happy – whatever. They aren’t choices I would make, but she has every right to make them. Banning the hijab was one thing – a thing that goes against every Western value I’ve been raised with. (Fun fact: The majority of French Muslim women supported the hijab ban.) But denying a woman citizenship because of it is so out of line.

Plus, they say she was living in total subservience to her husband which is wrong and incompatible with French values. So, are people who engage in total power exchange BDSM relationships unfit to be French citizens as well? Pauline Réage, anyone?

Random, but, I saw Raj Patel on C-SPAN last night, and now I totally want to read Stuffed And Starved.

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Fatemeh said, on July 15, 2008 at 4:34 am

    It is the end of the Eteraz era.
    Thanks for the link love. Right back at you!
    A few good books: have you heard of Leila Ahmed and Fatema Mernissi? They’re like the Betty Friedan and Gloria Steinem of Islamic feminism. Reading anything from them is a good idea. Fatemeh Keshavarz’s Jasmine & Stars: Reading More than Lolita in Tehran is a personal favorite.

  2. Fatemeh said, on July 15, 2008 at 4:38 am

    Ooh, I’m currently reading On Shifting Ground: Muslim women in the global era, edited by Fereshteh Nouraie-Simone. That might also be good. Also, try Mohja Kahf.

  3. Mish said, on July 15, 2008 at 7:47 pm

    Fatemeh – Thanks. I’ll have to check out the books you suggested. I do like Mohja Kahf from her essays I’ve read but I’ve never read any of her books.

  4. anon said, on July 15, 2008 at 9:37 pm

    “The majority of French Muslim women supported the hijab ban”

    that’s interesting to you have sources to back that up

  5. Mish said, on July 19, 2008 at 7:36 pm

    anon – I did a fast google search and didn’t find anything. I was told this by my religions professor and my poli sci professor. Neither seemed biased so I took it at face value.

  6. j.doe said, on July 31, 2009 at 1:27 pm

    “insufficient assimilation” (ref. Article link to BBC)

    Assimilation and integration are two different things and I am kind of shocked the French government actually used those words.

    The essence: is that although one may not agree with the way she lives as a female or a Muslim, it is nevertheless her right. I can not stress tolerance enough.

    Nevertheless, any government is of course entitled to grant citizenship to those who meet their criteria. I am unaware as to their criteria but assimilation can/must not be one of them.


Leave a Reply

