Ruined by Reading

The God of Small Things

Posted in Book Reviews, Fiction by M on November 7, 2008

“If he touched her he couldn’t talk to her, if he loved her he couldn’t leave, if he spoke he couldn’t listen, if he fought he couldn’t win.” (p 312)

n59798The God of Small Things by Arundhati Roy is probably one of the best books I’ve ever read. It tells the story of an Indian family that falls apart from the consequences of forbidden love and it centers around two twins – Estha and Rahel.

It’s hard to review it because I really don’t want to reveal the story. One of the charms of the book is that it reveals the plot very slowly and builds up to it. So just when you think you know the story, Roy adds another detail to it that changes everything. I hadn’t expected to like the book that much, but Roy is an amazing writer and the prose in The God of Small Things is absolutely beautiful. When I finished the book I was depressed and happy at the same time. Happy because of the love story and because Estha and Rahel could find comfort in each other, but sad at how things turned out for everyone in the end.

I loved the twins, Rahel and Estha. I love how they are the same and that they don’t distinguish between each other. There is no each and no other. Which is why I was not at all disturbed by the incest in the story. I wasn’t surprised when it happened. I was expecting it. It actually seemed almost like it was the right thing. They were grieving, and it was like it was only natural for them to unite like that because they are the same person. (I don’t at all condone incest in reality. This is fiction.)

I also really loved Velutha and was totally heartbroken at his fate. I can’t imagine how it must feel to love someone that you can’t be with, and that being with them could get you killed. I kept picturing Aamir Khan as Velutha even though he’s not nearly dark enough to be him. I guess because it’s just easy to picture him all rugged looking (think Lagaan)?

There’s really nothing bad I can say about this book. I loved it and I would recommend it to anyone who can appreciate a great story and excellent writing.

Rating: 5/5

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. veens said, on November 7, 2008 at 8:46 am

    You know this is the first review that I have read- that gives it 5 on 5!! and I m glad u know!
    I m reading ti too and I find it lil different… well lets se… i will pen down my thoughts once i m done!

  2. Mish said, on November 7, 2008 at 9:41 am

    Yes it’s definitely very different. Its a different kind of story and a very different kind of writing, but I loved it. It took me a little bit to get into, even though I appreciated the writing. But once I got into it I couldn’t put it down.

  3. Ramya said, on November 7, 2008 at 5:21 pm

    hwy.. you asked me about where we find challenges.. i usually just look at this blog :
    http://novelchallenges.blogspot.com/

    you can find a list of all challenges in effect and those proposed for next year as well.. others i find when someone else talks about it in their blog..but this is quite a comprehensive list!:)

    let me know what challenges you plan to participate in!

  4. Ramya said, on November 7, 2008 at 5:25 pm

    i just read your review for god of small things! i am glad you liked the book.. sadly, i didnt like the book the first time i read it.. i am re-reading it now and i just can’t get into it.. i have no idea why!

  5. […] 9, 2008 This past week I celebrated Obama’s victory and reviewed The God of Small Things. I was going to jump into 1984 but I got engrossed in Maps for Lost Lovers, which I’ve been […]

  6. beastmomma said, on November 13, 2008 at 3:08 am

    I really enjoyed this book as well. Unfortunately, I read it before I started blogging, so I do not have an online review.

  7. Sandra said, on December 21, 2008 at 5:51 pm

    Very nice review. I really loved this book too and can’t understand why others didn’t. It was a real treat for me. A pity she did not continue to write novels.


Leave a Reply

