Ruined by Reading

The Art of Racing in the Rain

Posted in Book Reviews, Fiction by M on August 19, 2009

Title: The Art of Racing in the Rain
Author: Garth Stein
Pages: 336
Rating: 5/5

I think this just might be the best book I’ve read all year. It made me laugh, it made me cry, and more importantly, it made me think.

The Art of Racing in the Rain tells the story of a family from the perspective of their dog, Enzo. His master, Denny, is a semi-professional race car driver, who falls in love and starts a family. Enzo shares his observations and his thoughts on the family. More than anything, he wants to be a human – to have a tongue that works and a pair of thumbs, if for no other reason than to warn Denny’s wife, Eve, of what he smells growing inside of her brain. But he can’t, and it’s too late for her, so Enzo is left to helplessly observe the aftermath of her death and his crumbling family.

Its impossible not to love Enzo. He’s insightful and spiritual with the soul of a human and a wisdom well beyond his years. The author has a beautifully touching way of describing life and death from Enzo’s perspective. I was moved to tears twice while reading this book and even at the end I could smile through my tears. Despite the sadness it does actually have a happy ending.

I can’t recommend this book enough. Not only is it the best book I’ve read all year, but it’s one of the best books I’ve read, period. It’s such a fast read and now I even find myself wondering if my dog is thinking similar things about me. I doubt it!

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Veens said, on August 22, 2009 at 5:38 am

    wow! Actually i have been wanting to get this book! I am surely going to get this one now!

  2. S. Krishna said, on August 30, 2009 at 11:19 pm

    Wow, high praise! I’m glad you enjoyed this one.


Leave a Reply

